To The New 110’er

Dear 110’er,

I hope you are not already stressing out thinking about all the work you have to do for this class, because you shouldn’t be!  I am not a big English person but I found this class interesting and fun.  Anne is a great instructor and if you pay attention during class, listen to her advice, and do the work, you will definitely receive an A.

I have a few words of advice for you before you get too far into the quarter.  First, choose a topic that you think you can write a lot about and actually enjoy for your Analytical Research Paper.  This paper consumes most of the quarter and the it is quite long so find something that you won’t get bored writing about for seven or so weeks.

Second, read all of the pages assigned from Writing Analytically and Commonplace.  Even though I was told at the beginning of the quarter to read the assigned pages, I didn’t always do so and I think that I could have benefited from reading it.  The readings usually go hand in hand with what will be discussed in class so it will really help your participation grade if you can contribute to the discussion about the readings.

Lastly, Anne is a great resource.  She is there to help you whenever you are stumped.  She gives great advice on how to improve your papers.  She is also very nice and easy to talk to, so don’t be afraid of her.

Good luck this quarter.  I hope you have just as good of an experience in this class that I did!

110’er Alum

PS- Avoid procrastination at all costs!! It will really hurt you!

2 Responses

  1. Anne isn’t going to be too thrilled to hear this but I rarely read from Writing Analytically and I felt very comfortable writing my paper without it. I feel I benefited more from simply attending class and listening to everyone discuss the information rather than simply read it myself.

  2. I was not a fan of English before either, but I did really like this class. Choosing a topic I actually enjoyed really helped with the writing. And, I’m pretty sure almost every blog says this, but not procrastinating is great advice. I was able to get my papers done fairly early and had enough time to send them to Anne and get her advice on how to make them better.

Leave a comment