Metro in south park

This episode of south park was the first time I had ever heard of metro-sexuality. It shows how the whole male population of the town, including the kids, adapt the life style. This trend starts with the show queer eye for the straight guy and ends with the producers and cast of that show actually being crab people wanting to take over the above ground world…but that aside lol, it was an interesting episode in the way that people reacted to the men being metro. The women and girls, while at first supportive, ended up completely upset and wanting the men to go back to normal. I thought it was interesting that they made the females upset because the males were taking more care of their bodies, such as additional attention to hair removal, and intent on fashion, things commonly excepted from women. While i’m on the topic of south park however, I have to talk about this weeks episode. I haven’t been this upset in a long time. Last weeks episode was the first part of a two part series involving people wanting Muhammad to acquire his ability to not be made fun of. At the same time, almost all of the other religious figures were being made fun of. Muhammad even appeared covered by a censored box and was scarcely allowed to talk. After the episode aired a muslim group in America essentially threatened the lives of the writers. Comedy central then proceeded to bleep out half the episode(basically everything referring to Muhammad). It drives me crazy that these people live in our country and use our FREE SPEECH to imply a threat to someone else for practicing FREE SPEECH. Sorry, that was a little off topic, but I couldn’t believe it when I heard that. The worst part of things like this though is that it gives the Muslim religion in general a bad image. Even though most people know that this group and normal Muslims are completely different groups, the negativity bleeds over at least a small amount.

2 Responses

  1. I personally really like South Park and watch it religiously with my roommate every week. I love how the writers take a lot of things that are happening in the world and make into comedy. I agree, the writers have the right of free speech, but then again a lot of the things that are said on the show can be seen as offensive. I think that if I was Muslim that I would be very upset by the episode as well, but threatening the lives of the writers is crossing the line. In this case I think that both the writers and Muslims have gone over the edge.

  2. I heard about this Muhammed thing, and I think he was a bear as an allusion to the even that happend in Africa (or something like that) where the lady named a bear “Muhammed”. Some people feel very strongly about their religion and are willing to go to extremes to fight for their beliefs. Going around insulting others is one thing, but people should ignore those people who go around doing such things. If every mean thing is given attention to, it only spreads to cause a greater effect.

Leave a comment