Women can’t drive

I am surprised this stereotype is still thriving today.  I didn’t hear too much about it, and I usually see men getting angry and starting road rage incidents and such.  I usually see guys just running red lights, speeding, etc..you know, all the illegal stuff.  I asked myself how this stereotype arose.  Add to this: “Asians can’t drive”.  I have only heard of Asians in car accidents, and it is usually not their fault.  There is still a lot of belittling towards women when it comes to activities.  This has been embedded in American culture and will probably not cease to exist.

Women really haven’t been driving long as men since women didn’t really have a reason to. Or should I say, they really couldn’t because they were usually housewives?  Men are usually distracted when they are in with their friends, while girls are usually more quite and focused.  However this seems to be changing as time goes on because from what I can tell, most women are (becoming) like most men.  A lot of girls I see nowadays are loud and obnoxious, not really different from guys other than from the biological aspects.  I see them going around causing trouble and doing “guy” things.  I heard about Miley Cyrus for the first time in months since her pole-dancing incident…but this time she was grinding on some 44 year old guy.  Her dad said “It’s what people her age do”, and that’s pretty true. Girls are becoming more and more like guys, and there doesn’t seem to be a change in direction.   (Funny how I went from driving to Miley Cyrus grinding, huh?)

5 Responses

  1. I think SOME women are becoming like guys, but there are a lot more guys becoming like girls in todays world. Why do guys even think about wearing tight jeans!? I haven’t really noticed girls becoming like guy in the sence you mentioned, but then again every one has a different persepective on why different genders behave the way that they do.

    I also think it is good point that women may not be as good drivers because they don’t drive as much.

  2. as a defense for us asians, china has no driving rules >.> and i wouldn’t exactly say that women can’t drive, but the fact that they like to go sloooooooooow. so slow in fact, that they tend to be an obstruction to traffic, which goes about 5mph above the limit. women follow the rules, but they end up taking up that stereotype because they’re afraid to go any faster. from my point of view anyway

  3. I think gender has nothing to do with how you drive. I hate driving so I usually let the boy drive but many of my girl friends love to drive! And if men really do drive faster, which is debatable, that would make them less cautious and have a slower reaction time, which would make more of a chance for an accident or ticket.

  4. I also think that gender has nothing to do with how you drive. I do think that both men and women can get distracted while driving, but don’t think either sex is more likely to over the other. I personally love to drive, but I know a lot of my girlfriends don’t. And it’s not just men that seem to drive fast, because I myself have a “lead foot!”

  5. Same here, I don’t really think gender has much to do with one’s ability to drive competently. It really just depends on the person. My mom liked to drive pretty fast sometimes and sometimes she goes pretty slow. But it’s true, there is a lot of belittling toward women when it comes to things involving action. I disagree with you on the point that the “women can’t drive” stereotype won’t cease to exist, though….I feel like it’ll eventually die out….ya know sometime.

Leave a comment